History of Mus Alparslan University

Mus Alparslan University is one of the 17 universities established with the publication of the Law numbered 5662 on the Amendment of the Decree Law on the Organization of Higher Education Institutions and the Staff Members of the Higher Education Institutions, and the Law on the Amendment of the Schedules Attached to the Decree Law on the General Staff and Its Procedure, in the Official Gazette on May 29, 2007.

Mus Faculty of Education, which is within the body of the university, was founded depending on the Fırat University by a decision of Council of Ministers dated 06/08/1998 and numbered 98/1462, in accordance with the additional article 30 of the Law numbered 2809. A vocational high school was established in pursuant to the resolution of Firat University Board of Directors dated 23/05/1986 and numbered 1985-1986 6/90, by the resolution taken at the meeting of the Higher Education Council dated 25/03/1987, in accordance with Article 7/d-2 amended by the Law No. 2880 of the Law No. 2547.

Mus Health High School was established under the Yuzuncu Yil University by a decision of the Council of Ministers, dated 10/10/1996 and numbered 96/8655, in accordance with the resolution taken at the 1st National Health Congress, within the scope of the “Restructuring of Health Education Project” in order to improve the efficiency of health care services and pursuant to resolutions of the Board of Health numbered 174, 184 and 185. Health High School began its activities at the undergraduate level in the 1997-1998 academic year and graduated its first students in the 2000-2001 academic year.

A total of 4 academic units, including the Faculty of Education, Healthcare School, Vocational School of Social Sciences and the Vocational of Technical Sciences, began their education and training lives during the period of affiliation with Firat and Van Yuzuncu Yil Universities. During the 7-year establishment period from 2008 to 2015, a total of 6 academic units were opened including Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, Faculty of Communication, Faculty of Islamic Sciences, Faculty of Engineering and Architecture and Malazgirt Vocational High School. In the period from 2015 to 2021, a total of 6 academic units were opened including the Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Applied Sciences, High School of Physical Education and Sports (converted to a faculty on 16 June 2020), Vocational School of Healthcare Services, Bulanik Vocational High School and Varto Vocational High School, and also, the High School of Health Sciences was converted to a faculty on October 4, 2019. Final preparations for the establishment of two major faculties have been completed and an application to YOK has been submitted (Council of Higher Education). Around 4000 students will be admitted to the university in 48 associate, 38 undergraduate, 24 graduate and 6 phd programs for the 2021-2022 academic year.

In 2018, the University was designated as a pilot state university in two key areas. The first and most important of these is that, with its Livestock Project, it was chosen as one of 5 pilot state universities selected within the scope of Regional Development-Oriented Mission Differentiation, with its Livestock Project. The second is the selection of a pilot state university as part of Digital Transformation in Higher Education. On the other hand, the University, which has succeeded in being one of the 15 universities chosen in the scope of YOK Anatolian Project, has reached the last stage in its efforts to become a Joint Application and Research Center in Roughage in Turkey. Prof. Dr. Nihat Inanc is the Founding Rector (2008-2015). Prof. Dr. Fethi Ahmet Polat has been serving as the rector since March 15, 2015. Rector Polat also serves as the General Secretary of the International Universities Council, of which the university is a member.

--Translated by Aysegul HERDILI

CREATED TIME: 16-09-2021 11:13 |